Pacific Grove – Museum of Natural History
Pacific Grove – Walk to the Stanford Hopkins Research Center to see the old Chinese Village
Jewell Park – Forest Ave
On August 8, the retreat opened three weeks of prayer meetings which were held in an enormous tent set up in what is now Jewell Park. Beneath the tent stood an elaborate preacher’s stand—in the shape of a square with four gables—which was, in the words of A Handbook of Monterey published in 1876, “an elegant structure, carefully and substantially built by [Herman] Prinz of Monterey, containing a platform for the ministers and seats for the choir.” Robert Louis Stevenson would later describe it as an “open-air temple, with benches and sounding-board, as though for an orchestra.” When Chautauqua Hall was built for indoor meetings in [1881?], the stand was sold and fitted for a stable and later used to form a garage at 311 Forest.
go back to fandango
more pictures of del monte beach walk
go to beach restaurant that is in the old bathhouse in Pacific Grove Beach